Personal tools
You are here: Home / News / Kawartha Lakes Councillor elected Chair of Kawartha Conservation

Kawartha Lakes Councillor elected Chair of Kawartha Conservation

January 30, 2015 - Kawartha Lakes Ward 16 Councillor Heather Stauble was elected Chair of the Kawartha Conservation Board of Directors Wednesday afternoon, January 28.

Member municipalities govern Kawartha Conservation through the Board of Directors comprised of Kawartha Lakes, Region of Durham (Scugog Township), Township of Cavan Monaghan, Region of Durham (Township of Clarington), Municipality of Trent Lakes and Region of Durham (Township of Brock).

“I very much appreciate the support and confidence the Board has shown in me electing me to this position.” said Coun. Stauble.

Kawartha Lakes Mayor Andy Letham said the Conservation Authority would be well represented by Coun. Stauble.

“I would like to congratulate Councillor Stauble on being elected Chair,” he said. “I know Councillor Stauble will do a great job and be a great representative for the City of Kawartha Lakes.”

Coun. Stauble represented Kawartha Lakes as a board member during the 2010-2014 term and said she is looking forward to the challenges and opportunities ahead as Chair in 2015.

“Having been a board member at Kawartha Conservation, Otonabee Region and the Ganaraska Region Conservation Authorities, I have had an opportunity to become very familiar with the issues, environmental legislation and the role of the Conservation Authorities.” said Stauble.  “I am looking forward to the review of the role of Conservation Authorities, regulation of wetlands and the provincial Oak Ridges Moraine and Greenbelt Plans.”

- 30 -

For more information please contact:

Kawartha Lakes Councillor Heather Stauble

Document Actions

Share |